We paid a visit to Mottisfont House while in Hampshire recently.
Maud & Gilbert Russell found the perfect country retreat here when they moved in 1934, intrigued by this unique building crafted from a medieval priory.
The beautiful vaults and columns of the 13th century wine cellar
The boys room
out in the grounds
The meeting place by the fountain
In Saxon times, the village 'moots' or meetings were held by this natural spring. The combinations of the words 'moot' and 'font' is believed to be the origin of the name 'Mottisfont'.
The font is over 3 metres deep (9 feet) and despite recent dry summers has never been known to run dry. Until the 1940's it supplied water to the walled garden and several houses in the village.
It was not the best day to visit here! There were 450 young school children visiting for the day studying wild life and history!